30 Days of Blogging – Day 7

Day 7 – Your dream wedding

I’m going to be honest – I’m not one of those girls who continually dreams of her wedding.

I used to be.  In high school and even into my very early 20’s, I daydreamed of my wedding.  You know, the simple details.  The dress.  The first dance.  The flowers.  The wedding party.  The food (hey! It’s important).  I used to think that I would be married by 22 or 23.  Once I realized that wasn’t going to happen, I stopped thinking about my wedding.  It became weird for me to be planning something that maybe would never happen, with a phantom groom.  Oh, I’m sure I will be married one day, but I have no idea when. For all I know, it’ll be when I’m in a nursing home. And that’s okay. I’ll hold off on planning it until I have that engagement ring on my finger. My mother – that’s a different story.  If you ask her details about my wedding, she will tell you what dress I am supposedly wearing (she’s insisting I wear Vera Wang), my hairstyle, the location, etc.  I like to tell people that my mother has been dreaming about my wedding much longer than I ever have.

But for the purposes of this post, here is what I want for my future wedding. I know that my wedding will be like traditional Italian weddings, in which the wedding takes place late morning or very early afternoon.  I will be wearing a pretty dress, designer or no.  My wedding music will be a mix of dance music and classic rock, and “Butterfly Kisses” will NOT be on the playlist.  I have no interest in having a big wedding – only VERY close family and close friends, for two reasons.  One – it’s much more intimate to share such a special day with those you love the most in life.  Two – I can spend more money on food if I have fewer guests. Damn it, I want amazing food at my wedding. I refuse to cave into the Texan tradition of tacos and steak.  NO.  Twenty years after my wedding, I want people to say, “Jenny’s wedding? Best food ever.”  I want my guests to have the time of their lives as they celebrate something so wonderful with me.  And when I do finally get married, it will be to someone who I can’t see myself living without, someone who gives me butterflies every time I see him, someone who completes me, all that jazz.

So that’s that.  The details will fill in themselves when the time is appropriate.

10 thoughts on “30 Days of Blogging – Day 7

  1. Butterfly Kisses will DEFINITELY be my father-daughter dance because every single time my dad hears it, he tears up. I remember this from the days when I’d help him with wedding photography and I WANT HIM TO FREAKIN’ CRY, ok?

    I’m mean like that. THERE MUST BE TEARS!

    Yup.

    • Haha nooooooo I hate “Butterfly Kisses” with a passion. A passion. If I compiled a list of the songs I hate the most in life, it would definitely be in the top five. I’ve heard it played at a funeral so that’s one reason I don’t like it. The other is that it makes me cry like a sap and I don’t want that. I think I will already be emotional at my wedding so I don’t want to cry during the father-daughter dance. I think I’ll play something like “Who Let the Dogs Out.”

      Your poor dad LOL. The day is already going to be emotional without that song playing.

      • I don’t know what will be my father daughter dance song! I’ve never thought about it! I have years and years though right?

        I think it’s funny that Christina specifically wants her dad to cry!

      • At one wedding, I saw a father and daughter dancing to Nat King Cole’s “Unforgettable” and I really liked that choice. It was the version where Natalie King Cole duets with him. I think it’s a good father/daughter first dance song.

        Lol I know! I wouldn’t want to see my dad cry, it would be weird!

  2. I just realized this is your blog. I had no idea what you’d done with it. I kept meaning to ask but didn’t want to sound stupid. Well I guess I’m admitting it now and sounding stupid anyway!

      • I did add you! The “atleastmyhairlooksgood” and the other blog name that you have…but I didn’t put “cloudyj” as a user…sorry about that! Adding you now. I thought you were being super quiet LOL.

  3. My dad’s usually an emotional mess. He cried when the Phillies won the World Series and he also cried when the old Phillies announcer guy died. (I feel bad that I don’t know this man’s name.)

    So, you know, my marriage, by comparison, should be something he cries over. Like a baby. 🙂

  4. Oh, also… Unforgettable WOULD be a pretty kick ass song. I’ll have to keep that in mind in case I change my mind about the Butterfly Kisses.

Leave a Reply

