30 Days of Blogging – Day 8

Day 8 – A song to match your mood.

I wouldn’t say that this song matches my mood, but I’ve been singing it in the shower for days, so it’s the one I decided to post.  Last week I heard that Fiona Apple is releasing an album next year, and the 18-year-old in me said, “YAAAAAY!”  I went through a Fiona Apple phase in college – I can’t remember if it was hearing “Criminal” or “Across the Universe,” but I was hooked.  I’ve spent the past couple of days just relistening and rediscovering all her songs.  This one reminds me of my first semester of college, specifically around October or November, because I think that’s when I first discovered it.  If I could bottle her voice, I could – it is so jazzy and sultry and amazing. I love her lyrics too – they are not only introspective and relatable, but really well-written and clever. You can tell she puts a lot of time into writing them and they are never cliche.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Blogging – Day 8

    • I’m glad you like it! You may also like “Parting Gift.” It’s from her “latest album,” which was actually released in 2005. She is very slow when it comes to producing new music, which is why I got so excited when I heard she’s coming out with something next year.

Leave a Reply

