One More Week Till Philly

Which means one more week until I have to step foot on a plane for the first time in 17 years.

::wheezes::

I’ve decided that I will make a playlist to calm my nerves before the flight.  This song will be at the top of my list.

Not only is the music so soothing, but I feel like the lyrics speak to my fears.

There is a place I’d love to go
Strangers takin’ me there
I dream about the day I learn to fly

I’m afraid of aeroplanes
Even though I like the way
It feels to be a person in the sky

It’s alright
and it’s good
this time

I look out and on the ground
really don’t believe it
gravity can pull me from this height

One day we’ll come crashing down
What will I do
Never had a chance to say goodbye

Close my eyes and hope that it’s
a real smooth flight
this time
Close my eyes and hope that it’s
a real smooth flight

And it’s good
this time

I look down and on the ground
I look down and on the ground
I look down and on the ground
I look out, we’re going down

 

8 thoughts on “One More Week Till Philly

  1. That’s probably not a song I’d listen to on a plane. I’m pretty sure that the first time I flew though, my iPod decided that Bright Eyes’ “At the Bottom of Everything” was an appropirate song to play.

    Not cool, iPod. It may sound kind of upbeat, but they still make a “beautiful splash.”

    Er, yeah. I like the song… but not in the air.

    • Haha yeah, I like the song until the very end where they’re going down…I prefer to think he means that they’re landing.

      LOL. Don’t you love the songs that come on at the most inappropriate times at life?

  2. Perfect song for your flight. 17 years? Is that because you are very afraid of flying? Please tell us the playlist when you complete it!

    • Partially for that reason, and because I’ve had frequent dreams about planes malfunctioning while on them. Haha! I will be sure to share the playlist 🙂 I’m going to put it together probably tomorrow or Monday…my flight is Thursday! Eek!!!!

  3. One time many years ago, I was on a long-haul flight and listening to the airplane radio (or whatever it’s called; they don’t have it anymore), a song by Mel C (ex-Spice Girl in case you didn’t know) came on called “Going Down”. I just about pissed my pants. I quickly turned it oFf!

    How many hours is it to Philly? It’s always sunny in Philadelphia – nothing will go wrong! 😉

Leave a Reply

