Keep On Rollin’

Last night I saw Marcia Ball and it was an incredible show.  She has one of those voices that just makes you feel. It’s rare when I find myself getting emotional with music (Jeff Buckley is one of the only artists I can think of who does that to me), but I found myself tearing up at some of her songs.  Just wonderful.  It was in a small, intimate venue and I had a great view the entire time.

Afterward, I met up with some friends downtown.  It was west of the popular spots, and I thought I was at the wrong place at first – there were a lot of people of the “older demographic.” A lot. I thought I walked in on bingo night.  But I saw my friends sitting at a table and joined them.  I didn’t do as much dancing as I thought – though I did do a little cha cha. I miss dancing.  I should start doing it again – not four or five times a week, like I did when I first moved here and was lonely and was desperate to meet people.  But regularly.

One of my running friends told me that she teaches a Saturday morning ladies workout group for half-marathoners.  Since I’m doing a half-marathon in February, I signed up and went this morning.  I did about five miles. It is sunny and very mild weather for December.  Couldn’t ask for better running weather. I met some new ladies and it was just a great way to start the weekend.  I’m definitely going to start hanging out with my running group more now that the craziness of this fall has settled…I love my friends to death, but I need to cultivate the friendships I have in town too.

Moving to this city has been the best life decision I could have made.  Settling into it was rough, but this past year has been the first where I’ve felt like this city is home to me.  The people, the culture, the music, the downtown scene…I just feel happy here.  I look at the person I was in college, in a small town and absolutely miserable, and I feel like she was a totally different person.

Leave a Reply

