Christmas Songs That Make Me Happy

It’s hard to believe Christmas is only a couple of days away. Though I stubbornly keep wearing long sleeves, the weather in Texas has been warm enough lately to run around in shorts.  Nevertheless, the holidays are here, whether we are ready for them or not. This year I have forgone the usual playlist of Christmas songs, but here are a couple I really enjoy.  Note – I’m usually a traditionalist when it comes to my Christmas songs.  Christmas songs by N*Sync, Destiny’s Child, or any other treacly rehash makes me want to stab my eardrums.  Also, I really cannot handle “Silver Bells,” so that’s not going to be on this list at all.

Here are a couple of songs that make me happy.

I just love this cover. Love love love.  It’s full of happiness and sunshine…kind of like the white Christmas South Texans wish for but would never get (except in 2004! It actually snowed here!)

“Carol of the Bells” is one of my favorites.  This is John William’s arrangement. You may recognize it from Home Alone.  (I saw that movie when it came out in theaters 20 years ago…WHERE HAS MY LIFE GONE?)

Another Christmas song that never fails to put me in the holiday spirit.

It’s not an American Christmas song without Elvis!  My brother and I both like the way he says “Christmas tree” in this song.

The overwrought Mariah Carey version can GTFO.  I prefer this version from Love, Actually. It makes even the most cynical feel warmth in their hearts.

This song is so cute! My favorite part is when Beaker is singing incoherently.

Another super-adorable song.  I think all of us have sung along to this song in a high-pitched voice, or at least attempted to.  “Me, I want a hula hoop!”

It’s probably a huge cliche that this is my top favorite Christmas song, but I don’t care.  It’s simple, understated, and classic, i.e. the opposite of Christina Aguilera’s version of the same song, which has a lot of melisma, finger waving, and the potential to incite rage from the listener.

EDIT:

Can’t believe I forgot these songs!

I remember watching this video in 1998. I was in Florida at a friend’s house and totally out of the loop with music. I remember admitting reluctantly to myself that I liked it, even if it wasn’t “traditional.”

I think a lot of people hate on this song and Wings in general, but it’s so happy!  Who cares if it is not the most lyrically brilliant song?  To be honest, I’d rather listen to this than John Lennon’s “Happy X-Mas.” I know, I know, it’s a great song too, it’s more socially relevant…but man, it’s such a downer.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Songs That Make Me Happy

  1. Ah, this is great 🙂 I needed some inspiration. Unfortunately I couldn’t wantch the videos because I live in Europe! WHy?! but I found them on youtube 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

