Ready for the New Year

Wow…how is it already almost the New Year?  I’m in denial that this year went by so quickly.  All in all, it was a pretty great year.  I grew a lot as an individual, and I got to cross a lot of items off my “must experience” list.

I moved out of the big, empty, friendless apartment and into a cozier one that has already experienced some good times with friends and loved ones.  I strengthened my existing friendships and grew even closer to my close buddies.  I drove to Dallas to visit Meghan and see Lady Gaga (and I used to be so afraid of the prospect of driving in Dallas).  My brother stayed with me all summer and we had some pretty awesome adventures, including seeing Robert Plant…what an amazing show.  I started playing drums and joined a band with my friend.  I got to be an extra on TV. I took acting classes.  I visited my relatives in Philly, meaning I had to swallow my fears and jump on a plane.  I got to see NYC, Philly, and DC all in one epic weekend.

I will always look back at 2010 as one of the best in my life, and it wouldn’t have been possible without my family, friends, and you guys!!!  I really feel like I have a close network of awesome pals on here, and I treasure your friendships.

As for resolutions, sure, I have a few.  I am going to give up caffeine again.  There are a couple of lifestyle and financial goals that I will keep to myself for the time being.

Anyway, 2011 may not be as good as 2010, but one thing I learned in 2010 is this – hiding from life is no way of living!  You have to get yourself out of your comfort zone and try new things.  Even if you fail, you have just another experience under your belt. I have to admit, I always get a little apprehensive at the thought of a new year, because my old anxious habits kick in and I think, “Wow, what can happen this year that I am unprepared for?”  But I’ve ditched my “I don’t need anyone but myself” mentality.  That’s BS.  As long as you have family and close friends to support you, you can weather anything.  It makes life a lot less scary!

I’m pretty excited for the new year. For the first time ever, I’m spending it away from family…well, mostly.  Patrick and I will be going to a house party and ringing in 2011 with our closest friends.  This may seem unusual, but I’m an Italian girl, and Italians stay very close to family during the holidays.  So while I’m very excited to be with friends this New Year’s Eve, I’m also feeling a little sad that I’m not spending it with my parents (Oldest Child Syndrome, aka feeling guilty for anything).  But it should be a good time.  I bought a blue houndstooth minidress for cheap, and I’m gonna wear it with burgundy-colored tights and flat knee-length boots.  I can’t wait to wear it, because it’s a pretty awesome outfit.

Ok, I have written enough. I hope you all have a happy and SAFE New Year’s Eve.  Talk to you guys in 2011!!!!!

One thought on “Ready for the New Year

Leave a Reply

