A Handful of Songs

I had a really frustrating drum practice tonight. I haven’t practiced “Soliloquy” in two weeks and it was more than evident.  I felt so embarrassed to be playing so terribly and it’s disrespectful to Michael to show up without practicing, not after all he has done for me as my teacher. I am going to bottle the feeling of embarrassment I had at my horrible playing and bottle it up so I can use it as a motivation to practice more often.

Michael did say something I liked. I was talking about how nervous I was to play at Tap’s party, and he said that nervousness means I respect what I’m doing.  “If you didn’t care, you wouldn’t be nervous,” he said.

A handful of songs:

I heard this on the radio for the first time in a loooong time. I had forgotten how much I loved it.  The lyrics are so stupid but it’s such a good song, I don’t even care.  Embrace my shame with me.

And, just ’cause I feel like it:

Leave a Reply

