A Treatise On Why This Weekend Was Amazing

Yesterday morning I slept in and went for a run.  After another miserable Arctic front that dropped the temperatures below freezing last week, my brain went into ecstasy with the warmth and sunshine. I went for a good six mile run on my favorite running trail by the lake and felt stronger running than I had in a long time.  I used the run to decompress and to prepare for the night’s performance. At the end I did a fast sprint to the last 45 seconds of “All My Life” (if you ever want to feel like a badass while running, I highly recommend it).

Afterward, I had a makeup drum lesson to take. Tap and I had decided to play “Breed” at our performance, which is one of my favorites from Nirvana. I was freaking out because of the drum roll at the beginning, mainly.   I mean, look at how awesome the drum part is.  I knew there wasn’t any way I could learn the entire drum part in one day.  As long as I got the basic beat down, I could fake the rest. But you can’t fake a drum roll.  I had practiced my drums for a long time on Friday, after a tiring 10-hour day, and I kept tensing up. I decided to ask for Michael’s help because I didn’t want to fail in front of everyone.  At lessons, after practicing “Soliloquy” (Michael said I improved a “hell of a lot” since last Thursday – amazing what, you know, actual practice would do, right?), Michael taught me the beat to “Breed” and had me play along with it, drum roll and everything.

I messed up a lot but there was something empowering about getting the drum roll and hitting all the cymbal crashes. I felt something I hadn’t felt in playing drums – knowing I could play this made me feel amazing.  I was so pumped after lessons I could hardly sit still.  I made the drive to Tap’s place and we all practiced for about an hour.  I was very nervous, but as the night progressed, my attitude went from “BUT WHAT IF I MESS UP, OMG” to “FUCK, THIS ISN’T MADISON SQUARE GARDEN, WHO CARES IF I MESS UP.”  Before I knew it, it was 12:15 and we had started setting up.  Some drunk partygoers took advantage of the mic and started singing “Mary Had a Little Lamb.” My friend Shark, who was filming some of our songs, had this to say about it.

We performed “Regulate,” “Hot in Herre,” and “I Can’t Dance.”  Then it was time for “Breed.”

You can tell my nerves threatened to derail the drum roll at the very beginning but I got it back on track.  It was far from a flawless performance but since I was probably the only Dave Grohl fanatic in the room, I don’t think anyone else would know the intricacies of the beat and be like, “YEAH YOU SHOULD HAVE HIT THAT OTHER TOM.”  I did not have time to learn the chorus fills which is why they sound a little empty. I totally want to learn this song all the way through.

Afterward, we did “All Star,” which Shark song, and then “Bad Romance,” which I sang.  Then we closed with “Fuck You.” I had a smile on my face the entire time because I was so happy at how much fun it was and what a great job my friends were doing.  Afterward, several ladies came up to compliment me and say how badass it was to see a female drummer.  In between the amazing drum lesson and our first performance as a band, it was a turning point for me as a drummer.

To celebrate, I spent the rest of the night dancing with some old friends and new ones. Yes, “Teenage Dream” was on the playlist and yes, I did sing every word to it as I danced.  In the morning, Tap’s roommate Clint made us a delicious breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and biscuits. Tap and I went to an outdoor shopping mall, and my brain went ecstatic again over the gorgeous weather.

And if this weekend could not have been more epic, this just happened:

I didn’t expect the video to be released so soon and about had a heart attack when I saw the link.  I CANNOT TELL YOU HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS SONG.  I love everything about it.  It’s very reminiscent of the first album, particularly “Weenie Beenie.” It’s a return to Dave’s hardcore punk roots.  They are not even attempting to be mainstream and I love it.  Love it love it love it.  The video is pretty amazing too. The retro feel is perfect for the song…Pat Smear is back with the band…and Lemmy’s in the video.  I hope the song will be available before my half-marathon next week. I want this on my playlist!

Ok. I should not be awake for someone who had four hours of sleep.  Night, you all.

6 thoughts on “A Treatise On Why This Weekend Was Amazing

  1. You’re so cool… playing the drums. In elementary school, my dad tried so hard to get me to play drums instead of flute. If I were smarter then, I would have actually listened to him that time.

    Drums are so much cooler than that silly little flute.

    Though, I’m still not sure I’d ever develop the coordination for that. (You rock!)

    • Thank you! It’s never too late to learn and it’s SO MUCH FUN. There are few stress relievers better than hitting something repeatedly. I started when I was 25, never too late!

Leave a Reply

