Why March is Going to Rock

I’m so happy it’s March, and here’s why.

1.  Winter is over and summer is around the corner.  This winter was pretty damn chilly (for Texas, at least), and we even got a little snow.  This winter wasn’t as bad as previous ones have been, because I kept up with friends and had a relatively consistent workout schedule for the first time since…college? So I didn’t turn into a zombie like I usually do in winter.  Still, I absolutely love the warm weather and the promise of longer days ahead (I will never again complain about losing an hour for Daylight Savings Time). 

2.  SXSW.  Man, I am so excited about it.  I don’t have the wristbands because they are way too expensive. They don’t even guarantee your entry into a show (which I think sucks.  Too bad the badges are almost as much as my monthly rent).  The best friends and the brother will be in town too, so I’m just looking forward to hearing some good music at whatever free shows we can find.  I know for certain that the Strokes are playing a free show.  Not that I’ve followed the Strokes much after their 2001 debut, but my seventeen-year-old self would be giddy at the thought of seeing them in concert.

3.  The word on the internet is that the Foo Fighters are playing a secret show at SXSW. This has caused great excitement between the brother and me.  We have seen Dave Grohl in concert twice (once at ACL in 2008, and once with Them Crooked Vultures in 2009) and both were life-changing shows for me. I hate how dramatic that sounds but it’s true.  I will have to blog about why one day, but the first basically changed my general attitude towards life.  The second is the reason why I started drumming. 

The problem is, we don’t have the badges that would guarantee us entry to the show.  Even wristbands aren’t a good guarantee in.  Our choices are camping outside the supposed venue (which I’m sure won’t be a secret) for hours, or attending the premiere of their documentary (which is only $12 each).  I’m wondering if the Foos will do something at the premiere.  The show starts at 6, and doors for the next movie doesn’t even open until 9.  I highly doubt the documentary will be 3 hours long.  This is something to consider…man, I’m just not going to get excited about it.  I am just going to accept the chances of seeing them live in two weeks is very, very slim. 

4.  Speaking of music, this month marks a full year I’ve been a drummer.  Fittingly, I’m learning the beat to Nirvana’s “Scentless Apprentice.”  Take a look at this beat:

It’s been a bit challenging to learn but it’s been fun to practice.  Take a look at line C.  The bottom notes you see are all on the bass drum (the drum I hit with my foot), all played very fast.  WHY DAVE, WHY?

5.  There is a group on Facebook that me and the boys have – we just post music, funny links, or videos of us playing music.  It’s a really nice collaborative environment to have.  Patrick posted a brilliant idea yesterday – that each of us perform and upload a cover song.  The catch is that we cannot decide what artists we will play – the others will have to vote on that.  I was assigned Nirvana, since I’m still a very beginning guitar player.  I’ll be doing “About a Girl.”  Patrick will be doing Radiohead, Tap will be doing Jimi Hendrix, and Shark will be doing David Bowie (my suggestion).  I can’t wait to hear the results…we have a week and a half to prepare it.  Which means I need to start learning both the guitar and drum parts.

Time to go back to work.  Ciao ciao.

13 thoughts on “Why March is Going to Rock

    • I hope they have fun! Did they get badges? That’s really the only way you can get a guarantee into any shows. They are so expensive though 😦 The rate right now is $750. Maybe one day when I’m rich and famous, I can enjoy the full SXSW experience :p Did you hear about the Hangout Music Fest? It’s 3 days, in Alabama in May. Much more affordable than SXSW. I might go for the day to see the Foo Fighters if they sell single-day passes.

      • Ah, my friend lives in Buffalo. She’s always complaining about how cold it is there! I couldn’t handle that kind of cold weather. If it drops below 50 here, I get miserable.

Leave a Reply

