Tax Season

Every year, I have good intentions with getting my taxes completed in time.  “I’ll do them as soon as I get my W-2,” I say resolutely to myself, and then before you know it, it’s a week before Tax Day and I think…shit.  I did it again.  It doesn’t help that, no matter how hard my father tried to mold me into being someone who front loads tasks, I stubbornly remained a procrastinator.  I don’t know if it’s passive-aggressive rebellion or what.  But hearing him saying, “Jennifer Nicole!” (his usual reaction when he would find out how long I had to do something and waited until the last minute to do it) would be very motivational right now.

My taxes, bills, and other boring adult responsibilities sit here on the table in front of me now with the Pixies as my background “do your fricking taxes already” music, but I am loathe to do them.  Is it wrong for me to want a personal assistant to do these boring tasks? I know adulthood means boring, repetitive responsibilities, working hard, blah blah, but really.

The only halfway interesting part of my taxes this year is that I received a W-2 for being a extra for two days last year.  So I can say that, in 2010, I officially earned money as an actress. Er.  Background actor. Whatever.

I use Turbo Tax, which is really easy and totally worth the money.  The one time I tried doing taxes myself, I got audited.  It was a weird situation. I received a letter from the IRS last fall the size of the Yellow Pages, and I was thinking, Hmm, this can’t be good.  The letter said, “Hey, we want a butt-load of money because you did this and this wrong on your form,” and I wanted to cry.   I very sadly sent them the check, freaking out, but then they sent a letter back saying, “Oh it’s cool, you don’t owe money to us anymore,” and they never deposited the amount. I have no idea what that was about, but if they didn’t want my money anymore, I wasn’t going to convince them otherwise. I think it was the universe’s way of saying, “You know, Jenny needs a good scare.  Let’s make her think she’s gonna get audited.”

Sigh. I need to get back to taxes, since I’ve been putting them off all weekend already.  This entry was just another means of procrastinating the inevitable.

6 thoughts on “Tax Season

  1. Good for you on getting that stuff done! I don’t think I will EVER do my own taxes. My parents have been doing them for me but if they ever decide not to, I’ll pay someone. Or I’ll pay them.

    • I cannot recommend Turbo Tax highly enough. It’s $40 but it’s such a great investment. They make the whole process really easy. I dread it every year but since I’ve been using Turbo Tax, it makes it so less stressful. Plus, I don’t know what I’m doing, and don’t want to get audited again (LOL)

  2. Turbo Tax only does federal taxes, right?

    I’m terrified of doing my own taxes. My dad has a tax guy who does his business taxes, so he gets all our personal taxes done then too. Usually a week or two after we get our W-2s.

    I’d cry if I ever had to write a check to the government. I rarely have bunches of money laying around that I don’t really need.

    • Ack, sorry it took me so long to respond, I suck. Turbo Taxes does state taxes, I believe. I hate doing taxes but they make it so much easier. I’m not a stupid person but I just cannot decipher the stupid tax forms.

      • Hah, it’s fine. My taxes are already done for the year anyway. It’s just… someday I may have to do my own taxes. I need to know where I can go for help!

        I’m afraid of the IRS.

Leave a Reply

