Pearl Jam, “Black”

I’m not a huge fan of Pearl Jam, but I dig a couple of their songs – especially this one.

I read that Eddie Vedder was against releasing this song as a single because it was too personal.  That’s what makes this song so great – his emotion is so raw that it bleeds from the song.  You can’t help being affected by it listening to it.

I love the lyrics, too.  Especially these –

I know someday you’ll have a beautiful life,
I know you’ll be a star in somebody else’s sky, but why
Why, why can’t it be, can’t it be mine?

5 thoughts on “Pearl Jam, “Black”

    • Haha yeah it’s pretty…it could be a metaphor too for the ~sun setting on a relationship~ though I doubt the dude compiling the video put that much thought into it.

Leave a Reply

