Popcorn Flicks and Old Neighbors

It’s interesting how random the universe is, sometimes. Just this past week I was thinking about two childhood friends of Pat’s and mine, wondering what they were up to and where life had taken them.  One was a next-door neighbor and the other lived down the street.  I tried looking them up on Facebook, but they don’t have a Facebook (can you believe it?)

Yesterday, I went to see a movie with my dad, brother, and family friend, Billy (my godsister Raquel’s dad).  And wouldn’t you know it?  Kris, my old next-door neighbor, was standing right behind us line as we were waiting for the movie.

As soon as I saw Kris, I immediately felt a little guilty about the way I treated him when we were kids.  Kris was a year younger than me and while I couldn’t stand up to the mean girls in my middle school, I had no problem with being bossy with boys, namely my brother and next-door neighbor. Poor Kris. He used to come over my house in the mornings when we were in middle school and we would walk to the bus stop together.  I remember him being such an enthusiastic, happy kid, and the only feeling I can associate with him from back then is impatience.

When I told my mom about seeing Kris at the movie, she and my dad started taking an unwanted trip down memory lane.  “Remember when Jennifer and Kris would walk to the bus stop?” Mom asked rhetorically.  “She would be walking ahead of him, and then would turn around and yell, ‘COME ON, KRIS.'”  “KRIS WAS SLOW,” I said, immediately feeling shame even though this happened fifteen years ago.  “Or she would be getting ready for school and tell me, ‘I don’t have time to listen to him talk, Mom! He won’t shut up!'”  “I guess I was a little bossy,” I said, squirming like I was a twelve-year old again instead of almost twenty-seven.  “Yeah, you were pretty bossy,” Dad confirmed.  “Poor Kris,” I sighed.

So, Kris, I know you will never read this, but I’m sorry for being bossy.  And I’m sorry for making you walk fast, but sometimes it was COLD in the morning and I just wanted to warm up, you know?

Anyway, I watched a lot of movies this weekend. I don’t usually watch movies.  I don’t have the patience to sit down for two hours, especially by myself.  But when I’m around family, I’ll catch up to watching movies.  I was at the theater yesterday to see Thor.  That movie completely exceeded my expectations. Actually, I had no idea what I was going in to see.  Judging by the title, I thought it was going to be some Grecian epic and found out only ten minutes before the movie started that it was actually Avengers-related. Natalie Portman was in it and didn’t suck at all, so this is two movies in a row that I’ve seen her actually be good at her job.  Also, Thor had this guy:

There were several gratuitous shirtless scenes like this and that was fine with me.

Thor was a lot better than Fast Five.  I saw Fast Five last weekend, and it already feels like a month ago – the weekend was rife with weirdness and drama, not even counting Osama Bin Laden’s death or the fact that a cold front blew in.  In MAY. A COLD FRONT.  IN TEXAS.  WHAT IS THIS, I DON’T EVEN.

My friend and I had gone to the theater to recover from the combined weirdness we had experienced that weekend.  My brother told me that in our hometown, where he’d seen the movie, people in the theater took the film very seriously. Hah, not where I saw it.  From the opening scene, the theater erupted in laughter.  The movie was so fucking ridiculous.  The acting sucked and nothing was believable. I haven’t seen the other four movies so I don’t have any emotional attachment to this series.  The funniest part was when Paul Walker and Vin Diesel are flying off a cliff in a fancy car and are all, “OH NO, WE’RE FLYING OFF A CLIFF,” and instead of dying from impact like normal people would, their car falls 500 feet into the water and then they emerge from the water completely unscathed.  The whole theater was rolling in laughter in that point, including me.

Not that Thor was believable either, but that movie was funnier, had better action, and also had a hotter lead actor in it. Therefore, it was a better movie.  The end.

Also, I don’t know how this entry quite shifted from reminiscing about my childhood to discussing bad movies and hot actors, but DEAL WITH IT.

2 thoughts on “Popcorn Flicks and Old Neighbors

  1. I try not to feel too guilty about things I did when I was little. Peer presure is hard! Though, I do sometimes feel guilty that I didn’t stand up for people who were being bullied in high school.

    Don’t get me wrong, if a “friend” was bullying someone, I said something. But it was harder to do to people I didn’t really *know.*

    Also, isn’t there some ridculous quest movie Natalie Portman stars in?

    Thor looks and sounds 100x better than Fast Five. I’ve never had any desire to see people drive fast and crash cars. It seems like a really dumb story line, you know?

    And I’ve never understood the fascinations with Vin Diesel. I don’t find him all that attractive. Maybe I’m a female fluke. Haha.

Leave a Reply

