New Wave Music – Thompson Twins and the Smiths

I have Sirius/XM satellite radio, and it is a wonderful little indulgence.  I drive a lot and the stations keep me from falling asleep on the interstate between San Antonio and my hometown (seriously. That highway has to rank in the top ten most boring highways ever).

Usually, I will listen to the same stations – classic rock, 90’s alternative, 90’s, 80’s music.  I’ve been branching out to some new stations lately, and I’ve really been enjoying the New Wave station.  I grew up in the 90’s, so I’m a little biased in thinking it’s been the best decade I’ve experienced (only because there’s a lot of nostalgia associated with it).  Even though I was born in 1984, my memories of that decade grow more vague with each passing year.  But I do love 80’s music a lot.  Even the cheesy synthesizers – it’s a sound that defined that generation. More often than not, when I listen to the 80’s station, I end up yelling, “OH SHIT I LOVE THIS SONG” and will blast it even if I’ve already heard it 1959510501 times growing up.

What I like about the New Wave station is while they play some familiar 80’s hits, they play a lot of songs that weren’t singles.  You all know the Thompson Twins, right?  They are famous for their song “Hold Me Now.”   The station played a song today I’ve never even heard before, but was pretty cool.  It’s called “The Gap.”

Then another song popped up on the station today.  This is one of those “OH SHIT I LOVE THIS” kind of songs.

I’ve only heard one Smiths album, but basically they write these songs with the most fucking depressing lyrics ever (Exhibit A – I Know It’s Over.  Jeff Buckley’s version takes his cover a step further until it sounds like pure suicide).   I listened to “How Soon Is Now” many times in early 2007. It was a strange time for me – grad school sucked and I had broken up with my boyfriend a couple months before, along with some other weirdness. I found comfort in the song, especially with the  “I AM HUMAN AND I NEED TO BE LOVED, JUST LIKE EVERYBODY ELSE DOES” lyric.  I’m in a much happier place now and can enjoy hearing the song without having to relate to it on a basic emotional level.  Even so, I still appreciate how melodramatic the lyrics are.

There’s a club, if you’d like to go
You could meet somebody who really loves you
So you go, and you stand on your own
And you leave on your own
And you go home, and you cry
And you want to die

I mean, seriously.

Now I really want to have an 80’s music marathon or something.

2 thoughts on “New Wave Music – Thompson Twins and the Smiths

  1. Hey Jenny,
    What about songs like “You’re The One For Me Fatty”
    or “Shoplifters of the World Unite”.
    There was a fair bit of piss-taking with The Smiths, It just wasn’t immediately obvious.
    Thanks for The Cracker song link in one of your posts. I’d forgotten how much i liked them.
    Cheers
    Brett

    • I will have to check those songs out, thank you! The only full Smiths album I’ve heard is the Queen Is Dead, so I will check out the rest of their songs 🙂

      You’re welcome! I love that song, it always cheers me up. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

