Hair Inspirations

I’d like to think my capricious and impetuous nature died along with my long-held teenage angst, but a part of it still exists.  For example, yesterday, I decided out of the blue that I really, really needed to do something about my hair.

I get bored with my hair very easily.  Naturally, I have the reputation in my office for always changing it.  But I hadn’t done anything to it in five months, which is the longest time that I can remember that I’ve left my hair alone, probably since early college. But yesterday I looked in the mirror, saw that it was at least five shades of brunette and blonde and thought, oh no. I need a change.  THIS isn’t working anymore.

I’m very naturally persuaded to change my hair by outside forces.  In 2005, I dyed my hair red because my favorite show at the time was Desperate Housewives.  Marcia Cross has such awesome hair and I coveted it.

That was a very, very bad decision.  It turned out orange, and when my dad opened the door and saw me for the first time, he turned around and left without saying a word.

Back in 2009, I had dyed my hair reddish brown after a year and a half of being a blonde.  I was okay with this decision, until August, when I first started watching/became obsessed with True Blood.

Damn it, Sookie has amazing hair.  And after watching several episodes, I thought, “I need to be a blonde again,” and then stayed a blonde for the next year and a half.

This time, I knew I wasn’t going back to being blonde (oh, I still wish I had it every once in awhile though…too bad it murdered my hair).  But I thought I’d grow my hair out a little longer before going back to my stylist.  Then I saw this:

If you don’t recognize her, that’s Frances Cobain (I hardly need to tell you guys who she is).  She’s ridiculously gorgeous.  I wish I were that badass at eighteen, or even at my ripe old age of 27 (and I love the fact that she has tattoos of Jeff Buckley’s “Grace” on her arms.  Of course she would have a great taste in music).

But after seeing her photos, my supposedly mature outlook on my hair (“Let’s wait until next month, after you’re done with field work”) totally digressed into, “HER HAIR. I WANT HER HAIR.  TOMORROW.”

So I dyed it again, and in my defense, it’s the closest to my natural hair color that I’ve been since I was probably nineteen.  My natural hair color is nearly black and that’s the shade I’m sporting now.

I love it!  On the outside, I’m this quiet, introverted person, but on the inside is a rocker who would just be happy listening to Deep Purple all day. And I feel like my hair finally expresses this, as opposed to the “LET’S GO TO THE BEACH YAYYYYYY” vibes that blonde hair gave me.

I feel like I will be satisfied with this hair for at least the next several months, at least until I see another hair inspiration that may make me think otherwise.

EDIT:  My lovely blog friends have asked to see a photo, so here I am cam-whoring it up.

I promise I am really excited about my hair, but smiling and posing for the camera seemed kind of ridiculous when you’re already taking pictures of yourself 😀

8 thoughts on “Hair Inspirations

Leave a Reply

