Self-Motivation

I feel like my life is lived in cycles.

Winter – “Where is the sunlight?  Why is it cold? Is this actually ICE on the road?  OH GOD, GET ME OUT OF THIS ABYSS OF MISERY AND GLOOMY WEATHER.”

Spring – “Oh hey, SXSW is coming up.  And this concert. And this friend’s party.  Wait…it’s warm.  Did I just live through winter? Why can’t I ever remember any life events that occurred during the winter? Is this some sort of retrograde amnesia? YAY SUNSHINE.”

Summer – “THIS IS THE BEST SEASON EVER. I DON’T CARE IF IT’S THREE HUNDRED DEGREES OUTSIDE. LIFE IS AMAZING.”

Fall Part 1–  “What am I doing with my life? Where is it going? What can I do this year to be challenged?  What is the next adventure I’m going to have?  What can I accomplish next?”

Fall Part 2 – “YAY Halloween/Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Year’s. It’s so great to share these holidays with the ones you love! Oh God, I ate too much and hate my existence.”

Right now, I’m getting into Fall Part 1 mode.  I’m a person who’s easily bored and wants a new challenge, a new adventure, something new to add to my book of experiences.  There are so many things I want to do – now, I just have to stay motivated enough to do these things on top of my work and marathon training schedule.  Stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “Self-Motivation

  1. I think my thoughts through the seasons are quite similar. Particularly winter. I wonder if fall makes is think about where our life is going because it’s back-to-school time? And we have this sense that we’re supposed to be moving forward in our life somehow…

    • Do you have S.A.D? I seriously think I do, haha. I can’t handle more than a couple gloomy winter days without feeling depressed.

      That’s a good thought about the fall, I’ve never thought about that before – but it makes sense.

Leave a Reply

