Confessions of a Delinquent Music Student

Ok, you guys. I’ve been sorely neglecting my drum kit lately.  Like, I was never that great at practicing, but it’s been REALLY bad for the past month or so.  There’s a lot going on, okay?! I mean, they’re all good things, but still.  In between having my brother living with me and running all the time and blah blah blah excuses excuses excuses, I haven’t been practicing very much.

It’s terrible.

I went to lessons tonight.  I missed a whole month’s worth of lessons so my teacher is letting me make them up with hour lessons.  Man, you guys.  I was so awful. I’ve been on “Heartbreaker” for God knows how long, and I still haven’t mastered it. Maybe if I actually READ my music instead of trying to play everything by ear, I could get it! But no.  Then, I would start playing a beat that I had been playing successfully just five minutes before, and then totally bombing it.

My teacher looked very patient as I felt like disintegrating into the floor.  Forever.

If that wasn’t bad enough, for some reason, I thought that asking to learn the beat to “Tom Sawyer” would be a good idea.

My drum teacher handed me the sheets to the song, then went on to explain that even Neil Peart is all, “Oh yeah, this song is kind of hard,” and that if he plays the song correctly in concert, he will smile at the end.  My teacher, who’s been playing as long as I’ve been alive and is fantastic, said that he’s played the song correctly maybe five times in his life.

Goddamn it.

I went through it, and it’s ridiculous.  Just ridiculous.  There are time signature changes everywhere and the fast high hat beats are played with only one hand.  When I asked my drum teacher why Neil Peart decided to play them that way, the response was, “Because he’s a badass.”

I don’t know what I was thinking. Actually, I do.  My boyfriend is a ridiculously amazing guitar player who’s classically trained and has been playing for forever, so being around him makes me feel really inspired to play songs way above my level.  “NOW I WANT TO LEARN THE DRUM PARTS TO RUSH AND LED ZEPPELIN SONGS SO WE CAN PLAY TOGETHER!  MY SKILL LEVEL/LAZINESS BE DAMNED!”

My drum teacher went on to say that maybe I should break myself into it slowly.  My brain filled in what he was too nice to say.  If you can’t master “Heartbreaker,” then “Tom Sawyer” is not happening anytime soon.

If I didn’t feel shitty enough about my drumming, here’s a five-year-old playing “Tom Sawyer” better than I ever will:

I will use the shame I felt at lessons today for inspiration.  I want to be better.  I don’t want my teacher to think I’m wasting his time.

SKILL LEVEL/LAZINESS BE DAMNED.  I AM LEARNING THIS SONG.  THIS IS HAPPENING.

It may take me a year, but YEAH.

Leave a Reply

