A Tired Music Post – Embracing Fluffy Pop Songs (Shakira, Shakira)

So. Tired.

It has been a long day. To top the day off nicely, this evening I got one of those “auras” that usually signify a migraine.  It has never happened to me before and was some of the weirdest shit I’ve experienced.  It started off as this nondescript mass of zig-zag lines and flashing colors, and the circumference grew wider and wider until it reached the corner of my eyes.  Then, fifteen minutes later, it was gone.

No headache. Yet.

I don’t know what the fuck that was about.  I feel like the universe is determined to get me to a doctor one way or the other.

But enough about me.  You know what a day like today needs?  Really fluffy pop music.

Like…Shakira.

I’m not even a Shakira fan. I don’t like her voice all that much and her singles are often forgettable.  I do have a soft spot for a couple of them, though.  “Objection (Tango)” and “Hips Don’t Lie” are legitimately good songs.

I heard one on the radio yesterday that I hadn’t heard before. Apparently it was released in 2009? I don’t know. I don’t listen to Top 40 radio, so I’m woefully behind with the “popular” artists (and I am quite okay with that).

When I first heard this song, I was like, “What the hell is this shit?” And then I proceeded to listen to it ten times in a row.  The video sucks, though. I feel like Shakira videos are made expressly for high school boys to masturbate to. For example, when she’s dancing in that sparkly red room, doesn’t it look like she’s dancing inside a giant vagina? Right?! (You can’t unsee it now. You’re welcome.)

I do wish I had her flexibility, though. Yes.

Another Shakira song I’m partial to is “Ojos Asi.”  I remember this one from living in South Texas and catching it on the Spanish music television channels in the early 2000s before she became famous in the US.  Yes, I’m being a Shakira hipster right now. Deal with it.

I have a friend who is a diehard Shakira fan; he will fly to another state to see her perform.  He has explained to me, several times, that her Spanish language songs are much better than her American ones.  “She just has so much more passion in her Spanish songs,” he said.

I mean, I have only heard like, five Shakira songs in my life, but if I can be purposely ignorant for a moment and make a completely uneducated judgment based off of this one Spanish Shakira song, I’d have to agree. The beats are much more complex and interesting, and her voice doesn’t get all strident like it does in her American songs.

Did I really just devote an entire post to Shakira? Good lord.

 

6 thoughts on “A Tired Music Post – Embracing Fluffy Pop Songs (Shakira, Shakira)

  1. I imagine Spanish is probably her preferred/nativve language. Maybe she makes better spanish music because she can feel the words better!

    “Hips Don’t Lie” reminds me of my mom’s coworker (she’s my “HACC mommy). I forget why. I think they use to say “hips don’t lie.” When someone said something a little dirty?

    I have no idea.

    I’ll have to watch this vagina video. I don’t have a clue what you’re talking about! I’m so curious!

  2. I do agree, as many do, about the Shakira’s Spanish music comment… yeah it does sound elitist. Kinda like, “I liked her before she got big, and everyone jumped on the bandwagon” but back when she wrote in Spanish and “crossed over,” she didn’t make use of “sound engineers” and she didn’t have like 5 people collaborating on one song like Britney, Katy Perry etc.

    On her older albums she wrote her lyrics and music w/ 1 long time colleague & that’s it. I don’t know if Ojos Asi would be the best example of her talent, since it’s incredibly dancey & can be compared to a lot of stuff out there today (though it was released a while ago), but it is sorta cool. She actually had very few dance/fast songs back then. Most of her stuff was very slow/folksy/interestingly arranged. Post-crossover, almost everything was hips-this that, I’m Lebanese, I can belly dance, don’t forget…!
    Her album “Pies Descalzos” has some incredible lyrics and the arrangements are so beautiful. Her Unplugged album is so great too.

    • Lilibeth! Hey! I really need to listen to her older stuff, it sounds really interesting. Haha, you’re right, all her American hits have her showing off her belly dancing skillz (which are incredible, but yeah. I guess that’s why the She Wolf video is so dumb, because it’s like, really? Is that all you’re going to contribute to this? haha).

      I’m going to take a listen to that album, thanks for the recommendation 🙂 Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

