It’s Only Monday and I Am Getting Exhausted

Work has been incredibly busy.  This is a good thing. I like being busy. But it can get exhausting at times, especially when you work for 8 days straight without a break, and 7 of those 8 days are out in the field.  Bless my understanding, supportive loved ones for their patience.  Exhaustion + lack of sleep + long days = super-sensitive, crabby Jenny.

But this weekend I didn’t have to work, and it was just the tonic I needed.  I slept – a lot.  I slept for 8 or 9 hours yesterday and then took a 2 hour nap later in the day. I watched Prometheus (and it was awesome). I went shopping. I ate a ridiculous amount of Mexican food.  I went salsa dancing for the first time in nearly four years (it was a blast! I’m still sore).  I read a lot.

Back at work today, I felt more energized and ready for the week and the upcoming tasks.  All was going well until the end of the day. I was starting to feel tired again. Brushing it off, I called a contact.  I had sent this person an email last week that had gone ignored.

When he answered, I asked him how he was doing and politely asked if he’d received my email.  With frustration and, I sense, a little hostility, he retorted, “Yes I did.  I’m in a meeting right now.  I can’t talk right now.”

Then he hung up.

What? Really?

I was smiling as I hung up because I was thinking, Are you serious? What have I done to upset you this much?  Why did you answer your phone if you are in a meeting?

But my smile faded into frustration.  Dude, seriously, I’m just trying to do my job here. I was polite. I was cordial. I gave you more than a full business day to respond to my request.  Why are you being such a dick?  What have I done to you to deserve such rudeness?

It may be a long week.

4 thoughts on “It’s Only Monday and I Am Getting Exhausted

Leave a Reply

