A Preemptive Apology to All Cat Owners

The other day, a coworker and I were discussing pets.  I have a bad habit of going into pet stores and then falling in love with whatever baby animal is for sale.  If I were an impulsive person, I’d already be a mama to a baby dachshund and kitten.  But no.  I left the warm, snuggly puppy behind and didn’t buy it, even though I must have cuddled with it for thirty minutes. (It was hard. HARD).

I was telling my coworker this when she said, “Don’t get a cat.”  “Well, yeah, my apartment deposit is $500 and pets are a lot of work,” I replied, thinking that she was being practical.  But she interrupted again, saying, “Don’t get a cat.”  “Why not?” I frowned.  “Well,” she said in a conspiratorial tone, “my fiancee and I think that people who like cats are…weird.”  “…what?” I replied.  “Yeah, like, if a woman has one cat, then it’s okay.  But guys who like cats?  That’s just weird.”

I immediately thought of all my male friends who own cats, who are all normal, functional members of society, and are not “weird” at all.

“My guy friends grew up with cats and have cats,” I retorted.  “What’s wrong with that?”  “I’m sorry if I’m offending you,” my coworker went on, “but we really think that people who like cats are weird.” And to make her argument more justifiable, she said, “Even his friends think that if they want to date a woman who owns a cat, she’ll lose a couple of points.”

My face was probably like this by then:

So, sorry, cat lovers.  You are all just WEIRD.

5 thoughts on “A Preemptive Apology to All Cat Owners

  1. SHE’s the weird one. Couldn’t even give you a good reason why she thinks it’s “weird”. I, for one, think that guys who have cats are ultra adorable. Shows their feminine side a bit and that’s cute.

  2. Cats seem so much easier to take care of than dogs. I’ve owned cats, but never owned a dog since I was a toddler. Cat people are cool, as long as you have 2 or less. Anything more is creepy. Especially any guy who owns more than 2, walk slowly away and don’t look back.

  3. Seriously? Guys loose a whole bunch of points in my book if they don’t like cats. I wouldn’t go as far as to say I’m not weird, though. I’m definitely very weird. That just happens to be completely unrelated from the whole cat thing. Cat’s are cute, funny, and soft and don’t require walks! Win!

    • “Cat’s are cute, funny, and soft and don’t require walks!”

      Yeah, this is a huge plus in the cat department. I love my little pup, but having to take him downstairs to use the bathroom will get old. I do like taking walks with him, though, since I love walking.

Leave a Reply

