An Aborted Attempt At Breaking My Limbs Part REALLY?

I am tired.  It is late, and I am cleaning a bit before bed.  I had a coughing fit earlier and am crossing my fingers that it is not a sign of something more serious on the horizon.

My kitchen has pretty much been taken over my puppy.  He is currently sleeping in his little kennel, which is right next to the oven.  His puppy bed (which I had to sew tonight since he chewed a hole in it and started eating the stuffing enthusiastically) is sitting on the other side of the kitchen.  Various toys litter the floor.  Puppy gates are set up on either side of the kitchen.

In other words, TRIPPING HAZARDS ARE ALL UP IN HERE.

Guess what.

The past two attempts I had at breaking my limbs involved running while tired.  This time, I was simply tired.  I attempted to step over the puppy gate but did not clear it properly.  Cue Jenny falling on the carpet.

You can bet that this internal dialogue was happening:

Me: NOOOOOOOOOO. NOT AGAIN. My shoulder just started feeling better!  I can’t hurt it again! I have field work tomorrow!  NOOO. NOOO. NOOOOOOOOOOO.

I landed on my right side, with the impact mostly at my wrist.  I am lucky – nothing feels weird or out of place. My right arm feels slightly, slightly stiff, but I could just be overthinking it. I think that falling on the carpet is really what saved this aborted attempt from turning into a success.

I need to go to sleep.

And seriously, body, STOP TRYING TO BREAK YOURSELF.

Leave a Reply

