Here is One Christmas Song That I Don’t Hate

I hate to sound like a Grinch, but oh man, I feel like I tolerate Christmas songs less with each passing year.

Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole? Yes, please.  Over-produced, cloying, and annoying pop retreads?  God no.  Like, if I have to listen to ONE MORE WHINY BITCH VERSION of “Last Christmas,” I am seriously going to kick something.  And there is no reason to have fucking melisma on the “pa, rum, pa, pum, pums” in “Little Drummer Boy.”

I know I’m not the only one. Boyfriend and I were at Whataburger at midnight last night and heard this atrocious cover of “Jingle Bells” where the singer not only included rests in between each lyric to drag out the song to oblivion, but included so many vocal affectations and unnecessary studio embellishments that I wondered why Santa was punishing me. Boyfriend’s horrified face told me he was feeling the same way.  And I was in a bathroom at HEB a couple of weeks ago while this super fucking annoying Christmas song was playing. All I remember are these high-pitched voices singing, “WE ARE SANTA’S ELVES! WE ARE SANTA’S ELVES!” and an HEB employee next to me washing her hands, with a facial expression that clearly read, “I hate my life.”

But today I heard a cover version of “White Christmas” that didn’t make me want to gouge my own eardrums out.

Ok, first of all – I love me some Buble.  With some exceptions, I feel like he does justice to any cover he tackles. (And his voice is just so pretty. SO PRETTY).  I was really surprised to find out that Shania Twain was the other singer in this duet.  I don’t know why, but I thought it was someone else.  I’m not a huge fan of hers, but her voice sounds really pretty in this song.

Well, it’s after one o’clock and I spent about four hours (literally) in the kitchen baking, and I was forced out of my slumber earlier this morning than I wanted to (Dad apparently decided that scraping out concrete in the living room for tile prep is the perfect activity to do at 7:30 in the morning on Christmas Eve.)  Anyway, I don’t know how I’m still awake.

So goodnight…and Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

